Joyful Thanksgiving

My family and I are about to embark on our second Thanksgiving without beloved husband and father.  Though the second, it is realistically more like the first.  My husband passed two weeks before last Thanksgiving.  So, we were all numb.  God was good and carried us through a whole year, with part of our hearts missing.

So, as is the tradition of well-wishing, it is said, “Happy Thanksgiving.”  The word “happy” is a challenge still.  But, God reminded me of joy.  Sweet joy, it is finding the beautiful in the chaos of a world turned upside down.  It is the precious people God has placed in our lives, not to fill the void, but to create new strength and blessed memories so that we can continue to take one step at a time.

How blessed we are this year.  Every need met and then some.  We have the encouragement of God, through His saints.  We have joy.  No, not happy but see God’s love in the joy and grace He pours out, in every difficult challenge.

So friends, have a joyful Thanksgiving.  Gather the manna He’s left along the way for you to find as you need it most.  Look up into heaven and thank Him, hug your family, smile, thank someone, give honor where it is due and take God’s hand in yours and lean hard. For love of a Saviour and the joy He places in your heart, is the greatest blessing.  Joyous Thanksgiving.

Psalm 116:9, 12, 17 ESV

I will walk before the LORD in the land of the living. [12] What shall I render to the LORD for all his benefits to me? [17] I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgiving and call on the name of the LORD.

7 thoughts on “Joyful Thanksgiving

  1. Well, I am right there with you. It is my second thanksgiving without my wife, the kids seem to be doing OK so I am grateful for that.

    Like

  2. So much loss. This was my first Thanksgiving without my mom and my second without my Dad. I am sure it is even more difficult to lose a spouse. I am glad you are able to find comfort in God and I hope that your Thanksgiving was filled with good food and good memories. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

