Living Letters

All I really need, what I really want most… a living letter… long, wordy, beautiful letter with a heart beat… sigh.

I love letters.

Ones filled with charm and encouragement and beautiful words pictures, loaded with all the words that express another’s desires and how they feel about you.  The ones that come from the heart, lovely promises and stories to keep in my heart.  Words of hope and joy. Letters that drip tears that stain the paper and make the ink run with such heart wrenching emotions.  Oh, and the letters that change your life, so packed with depth and care, that declare love and beg for a response.

I especially love the letters that take all of have just shared above, and put it to action.  The letters that have a heart beat.  Ones that become hands that hold and feet that walk close by.  Aw… words that jump out of the paper and into my life, expecting a smile.  Words that are brought to tea and seek a relationship.  Letters that come with a bearer, whose tears don’t just stain a page and make the ink run, but become someone whose tears I share and see and who is there when my heart is broken as well. And letter bearers that stand before me, in person whose smile I see and whose laughter I hear.  Yes, I love letters and those who’ve made theirs letters living and real.  They are the greatest gifts ever given to me.

We all have access to the greatest letters ever written.  They are personal, to us and for us.  These words pour themselves into our hearts and cause it to beat.  They charge us to grow and examine our lives more deeply.  These letters paint pictures so intricate and extraordinarily beautiful and so full of emotion, there is no letter that could rival them.

These letters and words have become precious treasures to my heart.  Not just because of what they mean to me to read, but because of the heart beat they have.  Each word is a promise the writer has personally acted on. They are not platitudes or empty promises, they are refreshing life-giving promises.  I can go to the writer and count on His words to be truth.  He collects every tear I shed and keeps it as treasure.  He sacrificed what is most precious to him so that I could have access to His throne room and one day, when my days are done here, live in a palace He’s made just for me.  Yes, the writer is a King and I am His heir. And His letters are Holy and living, every word of them.  His words have a heartbeat, gentle hands, faithful feet and never let me down or disappoint.

God’s word is the letter I long most for.  God makes every word alive, sometimes He uses dear people here on earth as His hands and feet and heart.  He pours Himself into us we are living breathing miracles, His letters, His poem, His masterpieces and His soul… to share Him in a dark world, in dark times and in dark corners.

Ephesians 2:10… “We are God’s workmanship [poetry] created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

The greatest gift, His letter, His words to me…. and those He’s used to cause that word to come to life, through their words, their letters and their actions.

We must all write “letters” with our lives.  Delivering them to those who need them, whose hearts are broken and whose hearts need to beat again.  Thank-you to those whose letters brought life and reminded me His word is not empty, but full of life-giving hope and powerful strength.

4 thoughts on “Living Letters

  1. This is so beautiful, Wendy. Especially this: “Yes, the writer is a King and I am His heir. And His letters are Holy and living, every word of them. His words have a heartbeat, gentle hands, faithful feet and never let me down or disappoint.” So true: they do. So blessed by His love and encouragement that has poured out of you into my own life. May His faithful servants enter your physical space today, to sit with, pray with and cry and laugh with you today. Hugs from afar.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are such precious thoughts about God’s Word being a living letter to us. And then this: “He pours Himself into us we are living breathing miracles, His letters, His poem, His masterpieces and His soul… to share Him in a dark world, in dark times and in dark corners.” To think that He Himself creates us to be His own letter. Thank you for your uplifting words, and being God’s letter to us today. –Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, it is such an encouragement to read this today. Walking a rough patch, grasping at the solid threads of Jesus robe and holding on for dear life. Missing my husband, my hearts letter writer. This was wonderful to read today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

