Silence Echoes Lament

The silence of these four walls

Scream in the insanity and chaos

Pressing upon my heart

The hole of all my loss.

Whispers in the soul’s halls

Filling it with a thousand empty echoes

Entering the rooms of my mind

And dreams fade to indigo.

Alone in the darkness of death’s calls

My chin rests on my aching chest

My empty arms wrapped around fading blue

And this quenched devotion cries in protest.

A widow’s song in the desert…. then God answers her cry.

I am here, weary daughter and child

Holding you with love and grace

Just reach for me and I will come

And brush the tears from your face.

Lean upon my chest and cry

But do not cry alone, dear one

He whom you were so devoted

Is safe and healed in My home.

 

Lamentations 2:19,  3:19-26, 31, 33, 41, 57-58 ESV
“Arise, cry out in the night, at the beginning of the night watches! Pour out your heart like water before the presence of the Lord ! Lift your hands to him for the lives of your children.”
Remember my affliction and my wanderings, the wormwood and the gall! [20] My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me. [21] But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: [22] The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; [23] they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. [24] “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” [25] The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. [26] It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD. [31] For he will have compassion according to the abundance of his steadfast love; [33] for he does not willingly afflict or grieve the children of men. [41] Let us lift up our hearts and hands to God in heaven: [57] You came near when I called on you; you said, ‘Do not fear!’ [58] “You have taken up my cause, O Lord; you have redeemed my life.

 

Leave a Reply

