Unraveled… or Knit Together?

As I was driving home from dropping one of my daughters at a birthday party, I was struck with this idea…. being knit together… and just seconds later… the idea of being an unraveled pile of threads.  I stored it away for future thought. But… it kept peeking out at me from behind the door I stored it behind… and nagging me to look closer.

At times, I cannot help but think… I am unraveled.  That my thread of yarn was pulled out from all the rest and now… lays in a rumpled, knotted heap… not discarded, but purposeless at the moment.  It was not a sudden removal from the place I thought I was woven and tied into, rather a… slow pulling.  (If you’ve ever knitted or crocheted… and had to pull your work out… yes, something like that.) Loop after loop, undone until my small life thread was no longer “knit together” to anything… or so it seemed.

So many memories, experiences and life events where “knit” together with my beloved husband.  I felt that when he went to heaven his thread was pulled and subsequently mine too, where it was looped into his.  So many stitches tied to his, in my mind, were left hanging creating holes here and there.  Until the ache of painful loss began to unravel the rest of my thread from where it once was so securely knit.  And all I can see… is the pile of thread (me) next to what was once where I thought I fit, belonged and had purpose.

Strange thing about this unraveling, it is… never… what we perceive it to be.  I perceived my beloved one’s thread as being completely pulled out, leaving holes where my thread hung unraveled.  When… in time… and with examination of truth, rather then believing all my feelings, I can see… Chris’s tread and… it is still very much there.  When Chris went to heaven, all of who he was to us, remained.  His memories, they are not missing, fading or unraveled from all we are.  God knit us together, what God knits together is not so easily unraveled.  God has allowed Chris to go before me but, has also allowed the threads of our lives together (the memories and dreams) to remain intact.

Psalm 139 is one of my favourite Psalms… verses 13-16 in ESV say this…  “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. [14] I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. [15] My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. [16] Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”  

You will not read too far into it, before you find out… how deep the Father’s love is for you.  “You knit me together in my mother’s womb…”  I thought on this a bit more.  Our life began,”knit together,” not unraveled.  In light of this being knit together, I also think about the family of God.  We are intricately woven into this family.  A thread that when joined with many, is stronger.  Knit together… such a beautiful thought… being tucked in, tied to and knit with others. Our arms being wrapped around one another, holding each other up, embracing each other in love and bringing comfort to each other.

The threads of those who have gone before us, remain… reminding us we have a part to play.  This work, the family God knit together, needs every thread… no matter how useless they might feel… to strengthen the body for His glory and the knitting together of more threads… until His appearance or our home-going.

Philippians 1:6 ESV   “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.”

4 thoughts on “Unraveled… or Knit Together?

Leave a Reply

