Once Upon a Gray Cloud

Once upon a gray cloud

In the darkness of the fray

Black was the cape and gown

That covered the light of day.

__

Hope fought

Fear revealed its side

Peace despaired

And courage wanted to hide.

___

Flashes announced a gray arrival

Every evening as clouds gathered

Covering sunset’s roses

Smothering the path she’d tread.

___

And I stood

Under it all

Crying tears of rain

Knowing that I’d fall.

___

Midnight blue

And starless nights

Abyss-like darkness

All fought the light.

___

Battles waged on my heart

Mirrored all I saw

Tempting me to despair

Ragged was the breath I’d draw.

__

Where did goodness go

Where was love’s bright shield

How could I see enough

What would be revealed?

___

Cold was the wind of night

Icy where the fingers

As they touched my frightened heart

And froze my many tears.

___

Like glass they fell

Upon the journey’s stoney way

Shattering expressions of my heart

Causing me to run away.

___

My knees pulled up

To my quivering chin

The ache gripping my heart

Doubt revelling in its win.

___

But one last flash

So different then all the rest

The sky white and warm

And sunrise in blushing dress.

___

A voice not destructive in its tone

Whispered gently on the breeze

Holding me captive

To its comfort and ease.

___

Instead of gray’s once dominating stance

The creator of my heart

Casts away the mourning shroud

And holds all that fell apart.

___

Heaven is revealed

The promise of ancient days descend

He will dress me in white

And new beginnings will never end.

Gray clouds and pain are one in the same.  As I am mourning again, the loss of my beloved one, God reminds me I will see a new day.  He will be my husband and He will father my children.  And though my heart aches in the storm of tears now, I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Death, has been conquered.  He has wiped away what once was gray and caused a new day to dawn in all its glory.

3 thoughts on “Once Upon a Gray Cloud

  1. Hallelujah! Amen! Praise our God of all Hope. What a beautiful, heartbreaking, yet hope-giving poem. Thank you for sharing this. It reminds me of Ephesians 3: 14 – 21- about His mighty, passionate love for us- “His Spirit deeply and gently within us” as the Message puts it. I’m going to keep praying that prayer I prayed yesterday. God is our Mighty Provider. Does He take away the grief? No, but He uses it to draw us close and embrace us even more, as your poem shows so well. Hugs to you today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the extra encouragement. What a blessing. Thank you for praying. God has been tender and good. I pray He shines his face upon upon you today.

      1 Thessalonians 1:2-4 ESV
      We give thanks to God always for all of you, constantly mentioning you in our prayers, [3] remembering before our God and Father your work of faith and labor of love and steadfastness of hope in our Lord Jesus Christ. [4] For we know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you.
      Philemon 1:4-7 ESV
      I thank my God always when I remember you in my prayers, [5] because I hear of your love and of the faith that you have toward the Lord Jesus and for all the saints, [6] and I pray that the sharing of your faith may become effective for the full knowledge of every good thing that is in us for the sake of Christ. [7] For I have derived much joy and comfort from your love, my brother, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed through you.

      Like

      1. Oh Wendy, what a blessing you are to me. Tears reading this (rough time for me at the moment). Thank you for reminding me that I am following the Lord’s plan for me, that He has chosen me for this, for being truthful and open before others. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

