Glimmers

Caught between the darkness and…. those little sparks that fly off the campfire, the flutter and flight of fireflies, the thin streak of light streaming from under the door, the flame of a single candle, the nightlight in a dark room, the glow at the tunnels end, starlight in the midnight, moonlight peeking from behind a black cloud, the sun painting the dark sky glorious shades of pink and gold…. glimmers.

I stand …most of the time, between a place of mourning and a place of peace.  Each one vying for my undivided attention.  There is always the pushing and the pulling of emotions.  The mourning place, the shelter of black curtains and dim lighting.  A place where it is socially acceptable to let the tears slip from your eyelashes and use a whole box of Kleenex.  But what happenes to some of us, when we step out from behind the veil?  To those who mourn loss, it is like our hearts remain hidden behind that black curtain, but the rest of us has to make peace with public appearances.  So… where do those tears go?  It is a battle to always appear like we have it all together and seem “with it.”  Probably, because we want that for ourselves.  The place of peace calls us to embrace tears of mourning, dance anyway, embrace joy anyway and use that box of Kleenex…. in public when needed.

“Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.”  The psalmist speaks so confidently.  There must be a glimmer… What does he see, that I do not?  This… glimmer, this hope it must be in the next portion….” You comfort me.”  I am so thankful for His promise, His glimmers. The promise of comfort, love, provision, joy, healing tears, growth and the list becomes endless here.

Yes, I stand here, between darkness and the light of love. And I realize something, the light, however brief or small, is in deep contrast and stands out more in the darkness.  I can see and appreciate the light more because my life is so dark.  Any glimmer will had twice the brilliance to this place of mourning.   So, I will praise Him in the pain and look for those glimmers I have become acutely aware of.

“I believe I will see the goodness of the Lord, in the land of the living.”

“He keeps in perfect peace he whose mind is focused on Him.”

Even in the darkness, even when my heart breaks for the hundredth time, even when I am flat on my face, even when I cannot get out of bed, even when heaven is so far away… “He is a lamp unto my feet and a light to my path.”  The single flame of a candle, doesn’t cast a shadow, it scatters them.  Glimmers introduce us to…. hope, grace, peace and strength. May I be found faithful, even though the darkness surrounds me, shine Your light through me, Father.

4 thoughts on “Glimmers

  1. Your words are so beautiful. I love this line: “The place of peace calls us to embrace tears of mourning, dance anyway, embrace joy anyway and use that box of Kleenex…. in public when needed.” True joy comes in the mourning precisely because it is in our tears that we recognize our great need for and lean more deeply into our true Comfort and Hope. Sending you hugs today from afar. Thank you for your words of encouragement on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

